Starting the Class VM

Before we launch of class VM, we need to do a bit of system tuning.

Making File Extensions Visible

I do not know why we keep doing this in the CS Program, but by default, the machines do not show extensions for files, you are expected to figure things out from the file icon Microsoft decides to display in WIndows Explorer. Here is how to fix that issue:

With WIndows Explorer open, click on Organize ‣ Folder and search options.

In the panel that comes up, click on the View tab, then uncheck the box labeled Hide extensions for known file types. You might also want to check the box labeled Show hidden files, folders, and drives. We are computer people, and like to see what is really on the system. Click your way out of this box, and you are done.

Starting up the VM

All Programs –> VMware –> VMware Workstation 12 Player`.

Once the program starts, you will see cosc2325vm listed in the left panel. Click on this item and you will see details about that virtual machine show up on the right. (The first time someone does this on a particular machine, you may need to browse for the machine if it says it cannot find it. The files needed should be under `C:\Virtual Machines).

Normally, you just double-click on the VM name to start it up. However, the first time you start it, you may need to change a few settings.

Initial Setup

At the bottom of the right panel, you will see an icon labeled Edit virtual machine settings. Click on that to bring up a panel where you can configure the machine (or reconfigure as needed).

Click on the Options tab, then on Shared Folders.

Check Always eabled, then click on OK. You should be back at the VM info panel.

Fire up the Program

Click on Play virtual machine to start the program and your virtual machine.

Warning

The first time a VM is started, the system will ask if you moved or copied it. Click on I copied it.

Logging in

You should see an entry for me, and a user named student. Obviously, you are a student. Select that entry and enter the password given out in class

Note

We have all students log in using the same user name and password. The virtual machine will hook to your shared drive (H) on the system you are using. See below for more on this.

Moving to your work directory

Warning

Do not save any files in this image. The image will be used by all students takingmy COSC2325 class and using this machine. See below for how to avoid that problem.

The lab machines are designed so any student can use them. That means we want to make sure we leave no personal files in this VM image. You will do all of your work in a directory that is mapped to your “H” drive. That drive follows you to any machine you use on any ACC campus.

Note

You may see an icon on the left panel showing a black window with a “>” in it. This is the icon for the terminal program. If it is there, double-click on it to start the program, if not, open up the Terminal program by clicking on the Dashboard icon at the top-left of the screen. In the Search box that appears, type in “terminal”, then press Enter. The Terminal program should start up. I recommend right-clicking on the program icon on the left side of the screen, and selecting Lock to Launcher. That way the icon will remain on the left side of the screen, even when the program is not running.

The command to move to your shared directory is this:

$ cd /HDrive

This directory is mapped to your host machine and your “H” drive. Anything you save here will be available on any machine you log into with the credentials you got in the lab period. That means we can do all of the work for this class in this directory, or in directories we create below this one, and all of that will be available whenever you log into a class VM at either SAC or NRG this term. Just remember to switch to this directory immediately after logging in.

I suggest that you create a directory for this class immediately. Name it cosc2325. We will be placing subdirectories under this one as we work on projects for the class. We will set things up so that any work you do in these sub-directories will be saved on the class GitHub server, where I can view them for grading.

Shutting Down

Note

Once you get going with the GitHub server, you should never shut down until you are certain your work is safely on that server. You can check that with a web browser.

When you are done working in the VM, you should shut down the machine. This can be done as easily as clicking on the red “close” button on the window. Or you can use the menu system to find the Power control and shut down that way. Make sure any open edit windows are closed before you do this, it is just like pulling the plug on a real machine. Any open files will be lost.